Oklahoma State University - Tulsa
Oklahoma State University - Tulsa

Upcoming Materials Science and Engineering Seminars

All seminars will take place in HRC 153. The Helmerich Research Center is located near the main entrance of the OSU-Tulsa Campus, on the corner of Detroit Ave. and John Hope Franklin Blvd. Parking is available in Lot D.

The Ross Group Distinguished Speaker in Engineering Series is the first endowed lecture series at OSU-Tulsa and is designed to bring engineering innovators to campus to discuss research and other engineering-related topics of interest. Two speakers are featured each year as part of OSU-Tulsa’s Materials Science and Engineering Speaker Series. Ross Group is a Tulsa-based development, engineering and construction firm.

Spring 2017 Seminars

Date and Time Speaker Speaker Bio

Thursday, Feb. 16

Dr. Anil Virkar
University of Utah

Part of the Ross Group Distinguished Speaker in Engineering Series

Dr. Anil V. Virkar is the Distinguished Professor and H. Kent Bowen Chair in Materials Science and Engineering at the University of Utah and Vice President of Materials and Systems Research, Inc. (MSRI). He is a co-founder of MSRI. He received Ph.D. from Northwestern University in Materials Science in 1973. He is a member of National Academy of Engineering (NAE), Fellow of the American Ceramic Society, Fellow of The Electrochemical Society, and a Fellow of the American Society for Metals. He is an author or co-author of over 240 research articles, and an inventor or co-inventor on more than 40 patents. He has conducted research and development on nanoscience materials and their applications in fuel cells, sensors, batteries on numerous funding sources including, U. S. Department of Energy, Department of Commerce, Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency, Department of Air Force, California Energy Commission, Gas Research Institute, Utah Centers of Excellence Program (COEP), USTAR, Electric Power Research Institute and private industry.

Thursday, Feb. 23 TBA  
Thursday, March 23

Dr. James Smay
Oklahoma State University

Dr. James E. Smay is the R.N. Maddox Associate Professor of Materials Science and Engineering at Oklahoma State University and president and founder of 3D Inks, LLC, a consulting company that fills requests for solid freeform fabrication robots. He earned his doctorate in materials science and engineering at the University of Illinois – Urbana. He joined OSU as assistant professor in 2002 and has procured about $2 million in research funding. His research interests include aqueous colloidal suspension formulation, ceramics processing, ferroelectric and piezoelectric ceramics and solid freeform fabrication. He is a recipient of the Victor K. LaMer Award from the American Chemical Society and the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers from President George W. Bush. He is the author of numerous papers published in peer-reviewed academic journals.

Thursday, March 30

Dr. George Wicks
U.S. Department of Energy
Savannah River National Laboratory

Dr. George G. Wicks is a retired consulting scientist from the U.S. Department of Energy’s Savannah River National Laboratory and is adjunct professor at the Georgia Health Sciences University. He is founder and head of Wicks Consulting Services, LLC in Aiken, South Carolina. Wicks is a Fellow of the American Ceramic Society and was inducted into the World Academy of Ceramics in 2014. Later that year, he received the Distinguished Life Member Award of the American Ceramic Society. He earned advanced degrees at Harvard University and Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Wicks is past chairman of the Nuclear Division of The American Ceramic Society and past president of the National Institute of Ceramic Engineers. He has served on the U.S. Materials Review Board and was adjunct professor at Clemson University and the University of Florida. He also has served on the DuPont Corporate Ceramics Board and testified on technical aspects of waste management for committees of the National Academy of Science. He is the recipient of three George Westinghouse Signature Awards and the Westinghouse Innovators Award.

Thursday, April 20

Dr. Arun Shukla
University of Rhode Island

Part of the Ross Group Distinguished Speaker in Engineering Series

Dr. Arun Shukla is the Simon Ostrach Professor of Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering at the University of Rhode Island. He served as the Clark B. Millikan Visiting Professor at the California Institute of Technology’s aerospace engineering department and, as a preeminent researcher in the field of fracture mechanics, he has been featured on the Discovery Channel and NBC’s Today Show. He is a fellow of the American Academy of Mechanics and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, the Society for Experimental Mechanics. Shukla was honored with the Distinguished Alumnus Award by the Indian Institute of Technology in Kampur in 2009 and was recognized by the University of Rhode Island with its Outstanding Contribution to Research Award in 2001 and the College of Engineering Faculty Excellence Award in 2012.

Thursday, April 27

Dr. David Marshall
Colorado State University

Part of the Ross Group Distinguished Speaker in Engineering Series

Dr. David Marshall is a research professor in aerospace engineering sciences at the University of Colorado Boulder. Before joining CU Boulder in 2016, Marshall was a senior fellow at Teledyne Scientific Co. and Rockwell Science Center where he worked with NASA, various Department of Defense agencies, universities and companies on developing high-temperature materials and structures for aerospace propulsion and thermal protection. While at Teledyne, was an adjunct professor in the Materials Department at UC Santa Barbara. Previously, he held research positions at the UC Berkeley and the University of New South Wales, Australia. Marshall was named Teledyne Scientific and Imaging Technologist of the Year in 2008. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, the World Academy of Ceramics and a distinguished life member of the American Ceramic Society.


OSU-Tulsa on Facebook OSU-Tulsa on Twitter OSU-Tulsa on Foursquare OSU-Tulsa on You Tube